Acharya Nagarjuna University

Acharya Nagarjuna University was inaugurated on 11th September, 1976 by the former President of India, Sri Fakruddin Ali Ahmed. After overcoming some initial problems, the  University has moved forward with determination, enthusiasm and hope. It started from the corridors of a local polytechnic college in Nallapadu  and now it operated from the imposing buildings in Nagarjuna nagar.

Acharya Nagarjuna University started with only 10 post-graduate courses in the University College. Since then, it has achieved tremendous progress through quantitative expansion and improvements on various fronts. This has been possible by the efforts of its dedicated faculty, an efficient team of supporting staff and high quality student input. 

Acharya Nagajuna University since then has grown into a large University with 39 Academic Departments, including several self-financed courses, which started operating since 1992. Its jurisdiction was extended to three districts now having over 450 affiliated colleges offering Under-Graduate, Post-Graduate, Engineering, Education, Law, Pharmacy and Oriental Languages courses. Now it has 39 Post-graduate teaching-cum-research courses on the campus, while 71 affiliated colleges offered P.G. courses. The University runs two P.G. centers-one at Ongole (a fully self-financed center) and another at Nuzvid (aided).
The University has two post-graduate centers one at Nuzvid, Krishna District and the other at Ongole, Prakasam District. University has got over 450 affiliated colleges in Krishna, Guntur and Prakasam Districts. 

Teaching and Research are the twin goals of the faculty in the University College. The research programmes carried out in the various Departments cover both fundamental and applied areas. The academic Departments seek to find a reasonable and useful balance between the world of knowledge and its use and application in a more concrete and realizable form. 

The Science Departments are engaged in carrying out work related to the growing scientific knowledge in solving the problems of society, like the study of pollution hazards and their prevention; finding alternative energy sources, development of new varieties and hybrids in chilies, computer applications and software development augmenting and preserving fuel supplies and other bio-mass sources.

Two new P.G. courses, in Hindi, and Tourism & Travel management were introduced lately. New courses were started from the academic year: B.P. Ed. and M.P. Ed in the department of Physical Education, while M.B.A. in Health Administration, M. Ed in the department of Education and M.Sc. in Medical Technology are jointly awarded by A.N.U. and N.T.R. University of Health Sciences. Five year Integrated M.B.A., Programme in International Finance is started. This University has also pioneered the introduction of self-financed courses in the country, which is in conformity with the thinking of the national education policy makers such as the University Grants Commission. 

Courses offered by ANU College of Arts

  • M.A. Economics
  • M.A. Rural Development
  • M.A Political Science
  • M.A. Public Administration
  • M.A Sociology
  • M.S.W (Master of Social Work)  
  • M.A History  
  • M.A Ancient History & Archaeology
  • M.A Mahayana Buddhist Studies
  • M.A Telugu
  • M.A Sanskrit
  • M.A English  
  • M.A Hindi
  • M.Com  
  • M.B.A
  • M.B.A (International Business)
  • M.B.A (Hospital Administration) 
  • M.H.R.M 
  • M.T.T.M(Master of Tourism and Travel Management)
  • LL.M 
  •  M.A Journalism & Mass Communication  
  • M.Ed.
  • P.G. Diploma in Ambedkar Studies 
  • M.L.I.Sc 

Courses offered by ANU College of Science

  • M.Sc. Aquaculture
  • M.Sc Bio-chemistry
  • M.Sc. Biotechnology
  • M.Tech Biotechnology
  • M.Sc. Botany
  • M.Sc. Chemistry
  • M.Sc. Electronics & Instrumentation Technology
  • M.Sc. Environmental Sciences
  • M.Sc. Foods & Nutritional Science
  • M.Sc. Geology
  • M.C.A.
  • M.Sc. Mathematics
  • M.Sc. Microbiology
  • M.Sc. Nano-Biotechnology
  • M.Sc. Nano-Technology
  • M.Sc. Physics
  • M.Sc. Statistics
  • M.Sc. Statistics (QR & OR)
  • M.Sc. Zoology

ANU Research Centers

  • Disaster Mitigation Studies Centre
  • Centre for Women's Studies
  • Centre for Scientific Socialism
  • Chair Mahayana Buddhist Studies
  • Prof. K.S. Murthi Centre for the study of Afro-Asian Philosophies
  • Ambedkar Research Centre for Social Policy & Social Action

Contact Details

Acharya Nagarjuna University, 
Nagarjuna Nagar
Guntur - 522 510
Andhra Pradesh, India. 

Connect me with the Top Colleges